Thank you
Educational Partners




News

The latest news contains all the exciting events happening at KHS.

Latest Spark     

Announcements - Upcoming Events

Attention Seniors - Cap & Gown Order Extended

The deadline for ordering graduation announcements has been extended to January 5, 2015.  Cap and gowns can be ordered right up to graduation day, however, beginning March 1, 2015, there will be an additional $10.00 per month late fee added to the cost.

Herff Jones Graduation Specialist: Fran Goldberg - Graduation Specialist
15371 Roosevelt Blvd, Ste #103
Clearwater, FL 33760
727-545-3288, ext. #3
fax: 727-545-0188
HOURS: Monday thru Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm
Email: herffjones2@verizon.net
Website: www.herffjonestampabay.com
Website to order a class ring: https://highschool.herffjones

Students - Be a Part of the Leadership Team at KHS

Mr. Ritter is our Leadership Coach at KHS and he needs students to be a part of the team.  Please submit an application and/or drop by and visit Mr. Ritter in Building 3, Room 1 to find out more about the team.

Students -  Join a KHS Academy - Deadline 1/9/2015

Friday, January 9, 2015 is the deadline to submit your application to be a part of one of the academies at KHS.  Applications must be completed online: www.polkacademies.com/apply/.  A list of academies at KHS:

Academy Instructor(s)
Academy of Automotive Technology  Alan Darr 
Academy of Natural Resources  Keitha Hall 
Central Florida Aerospace Academy  Zin Smith 
Criminal Justice, Law and Career Academy  Lyle Tripp 
Distrotek Malinda Pough or Kim Cage 
Sports Medicine Academy Contact:  Amy Lowery or Kaelin Mancuso
 

Student Parking - Main Campus

Students can pick up applications in the main office. Students must have a 2.0 GPA and the cost of the parking permit is $20.00.

Senior Dues = 50.00

Senior Class Sponsors:  Kim Kosier  kim.kosier@polk-fl.net; Jessica Wells jessica.wells02@polk-fl.net; Robin Futch robin.futch@polk-fl.net; Regina Register regina.register@polk-fl.net; Susan Kelley susan.kelley@polk-fl.net

Important Upcoming Dates

Monday, January 5, 2015 - Students and Staff return after Winter Holidays

Monday, January 26, 2015 - Staff Development Day/Student Holiday

Friday, January 30, 2015 - Distribute 1st Semester Report Cards

Monday, February 16, 2015 - Presidents' Day - Staff and Student Holiday

SmilePak Weekend Meal Program English Request  Spanish Request

Parents, we are proud participants of the Agape Food Bank program again this year. We distribute food filled backpacks to KHS families with a need. If you know of someone who could benefit from this program, please share the above link. Request form should be submitted to Mrs. Hicks  kim.hicks@polk-fl.net  or you can have your child return the form to the main office.

Attention KHS Fans  Season Pass

Season passes are now available for a limited time. You can order online at www.reddevilnation.net/seasonpasses  For more information email khsboosters@live.com.

Student Guidance Counselors

Counselor Student's Last Name  Grades Email
Joe Izzo All CFAA Students - A 9-12 joe.izzo@polk-fl.net
Dee Axson All Step Up Academy - B 9-12 dee.axson@polk-fl.net
Kathryn Schalter C-H 10-12 kathryn.schalter@polk-fl.net
Angie Mudge I-P 10-12 angie.mudge@polk-fl.net
Kimberly Sprouse Q-Z 10-12 kimberly.sprouse@polk-fl.net
Regina Register All Freshman Academy 9 regina.register@polk-fl.net

Parents & Guardians

Please review this link at your convenience.  Bullying Information and Prevention.

Important Documents

Mission and Vision at KHS

Our vision:

"Cultivating a Legacy of Lifelong Learners

Our mission: 

Kathleen High School is committed to cultivating a legacy of lifelong learners by providing the knowledge and skills needed to be successful, productive citizens. Our students, staff, parents, and community will work together as a family to install a sense of P.R.I.D.E. in who we are, where we are, and what we are to become.

  • Preparedness
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Dependability
  • Engagement

Upcoming Events

If you would like to sign-up for the weekly email Kathleen Spark, please contact lia.maffett@polk-fl.net. The Kathleen Spark is sent every Friday during the school year and lists the daily lunch menu choices, sports games, academic news, testing schedules, college information, and events happening the following week. Questions and/or concerns about the school website, contact  Lia Maffett.

Media Center

Our KHS Media Center is open  from 6:40 a.m. until first bell for Study Hall. This is open to any student looking for a quiet place to study, read, or complete assignments.

First Time Driver Traffic School

All first time drivers in the State of Florida are required to take the Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) course before applying for their license. With the DATA Course and Learners Permit Exam you will have access to complete your DHSMV required course and learner's permit license exam online.

This course is required for all first-time drivers before applying for a license. A portion of the registration fee is donated to Kathleen High School!

Website: www.kathleenhs.floridaonlinetrafficschool.com