Thank you
Educational Partners




News

The latest news contains all the exciting events happening at KHS.

Latest Spark     

Announcements - Upcoming Events

5th Quarter - October 31, 2014

FCA invites everyone to the 5th Quarter on Friday, 10/31. It will begin after the Lakeland-KHS Varsity football game. Fifth quarter will close at 12:00 a.m. Join us at Webster Memorial Baptist Church across from KHS on Chestnut.

Key Club Still Needs Student Members

If you are interested in joining Key Club, see Mrs. Horn for the application packet. Dues are $16.00. The sole purpose of Key Club is to provide students with community service events to earn toward graduation and/or scholarships.

Martin Luther King Jr. 14th Annual Essay Contest Details

Student Parking - Main Campus

Students can pick up applications in the main office. Students must have a 2.0 GPA and the cost of the parking permit is $20.00.

Senior Dues = 40.00 extended to 10/31/14

Senior Class Sponsors:  Kim Kosier  kim.kosier@polk-fl.net; Jessica Wells jessica.wells02@polk-fl.net; Robin Futch robin.futch@polk-fl.net; Regina Register regina.register@polk-fl.net; Susan Kelley susan.kelley@polk-fl.net

Herff Jones will be on the main campus on October 22 for an informational meeting about ordering cap and gowns. Please note that your senior portrait must be taken by October 30. If you need help, please see Mrs. Lavery.

Important Upcoming Dates

Tuesday, November 4 = 1st Quarter Report Cards

Boys Basketball Tryouts

Tryouts begin October 27. All 11th and 12th grade students report to the gym at 2:05. All 9th and 10th grade students report to the lobby of the gym at 3:20. The workout will conclude at 5:00. All students must have all appropriate paperwork turned into Mr. Lineberger before tryouts.

Basketball & Baseball Golf Tournament - 10/25/14 Golf Tourney

School Pictures

Main Campus - Underclassmen Retakes - Friday, October 31

CFAA - Underclassmen Retakes - Tuesday, November 4

SmilePak Weekend Meal Program English Request  Spanish Request

Parents, we are proud participants of the Agape Food Bank program again this year. We distribute food filled backpacks to KHS families with a need. If you know of someone who could benefit from this program, please share the above link. Request form should be submitted to Mrs. Hicks  kim.hicks@polk-fl.net  or you can have your child return the form to the main office.

Attention KHS Fans  Season Pass

Season passes are now available for a limited time. You can order online at www.reddevilnation.net/seasonpasses  For more information email khsboosters@live.com.

Student Guidance Counselors

Counselor Student's Last Name  Grades Email
Joe Izzo All CFAA Students - A 9-12 joe.izzo@polk-fl.net
Dee Axson All Step Up Academy - B 9-12 dee.axson@polk-fl.net
Kathryn Schalter C-H 10-12 kathryn.schalter@polk-fl.net
Angie Mudge I-P 10-12 angie.mudge@polk-fl.net
Kimberly Sprouse Q-Z 10-12 kimberly.sprouse@polk-fl.net
Regina Register All Freshman Academy 9 regina.register@polk-fl.net

Parents & Guardians

Please review this link at your convenience.  Bullying Information and Prevention.

Important Documents

Mission and Vision at KHS

Our vision:

"Cultivating a Legacy of Lifelong Learners

Our mission: 

Kathleen High School is committed to cultivating a legacy of lifelong learners by providing the knowledge and skills needed to be successful, productive citizens. Our students, staff, parents, and community will work together as a family to install a sense of P.R.I.D.E. in who we are, where we are, and what we are to become.

  • Preparedness
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Dependability
  • Engagement

Upcoming Events

If you would like to sign-up for the weekly email Kathleen Spark, please contact lia.maffett@polk-fl.net. The Kathleen Spark is sent every Friday during the school year and lists the daily lunch menu choices, sports games, academic news, testing schedules, college information, and events happening the following week. Questions and/or concerns about the school website, contact  Lia Maffett.

Media Center

Our KHS Media Center is open  from 6:40 a.m. until first bell for Study Hall. This is open to any student looking for a quiet place to study, read, or complete assignments.

First Time Driver Traffic School

All first time drivers in the State of Florida are required to take the Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) course before applying for their license. With the DATA Course and Learners Permit Exam you will have access to complete your DHSMV required course and learner's permit license exam online.

This course is required for all first-time drivers before applying for a license. A portion of the registration fee is donated to Kathleen High School!

Website: www.kathleenhs.floridaonlinetrafficschool.com